Nirbhaya Case and Juvenile Justice:Responsible(Funny) Democracy

The discussion on Indian democracy is long. We all have heard it and involved ourselves in it. Every democracy and country has its own problems and characteristics. But one entity stays same, the people.

I think democracy also should have the responsibility of proving that it has not lost the touch with people. Every day you will not get this chance. In any social structure these chances come through some incidents and after a series of arguments.

Nirbhaya case was one of those cases. The juvenile, who has the charge of rape and murder, has been released under the juvenile justice act. Following this, the act has been amended. But this amendment will not be used for this case, as that is the structure of Indian judiciary and law.

I know the argument, it is “law” and we should respect it. But from the perspective of a citizen, I want to raise the question that, what is the kind of democracy we are when the voice of people is not audible. Indian citizens have demanded that this person should be convicted and get the punishment as per the crime he has done. He has not done any childish activity; he has raped and murdered a woman.

I think this was the moment when the pillars of the democracy should have proved and say people that we are with you. It is the fear of every Indian citizen and it is the love of the citizens for the humanity. If a democracy has no humanitarian aspect then we shouldn’t call it so.

I will like to mention the name of Irom Sharmila, who is fighting against AFSPA in Manipur. We all know how police deal with her and arrests her every time to keep her under the watch of police. We all know the stories of fake encounters and custodial deaths. I am not supporting any of these things and asking to apply these for this criminal. But, I want to say if today you tell me Indian judiciary and police doesn’t know how to keep a person inside jail then I should say. “Are you kidding me?”

The judiciary is losing the touch with the citizens from a long time, which is very alarming for any democracy. I hope it will try to regain the confidence and trust of people.

IMAGE SOURCE: Internet

Author: sayantanjourno

A coffee addict. I love to read books. Writing is my passion. I write poems and articles on life. I am a journalist by profession. I write reports on political and social issues. Here you will find some of my writings on various socio-political-economic issues. I love traveling, photography and music. I am doing theater for more than 13 years now. So write to me on work.sayantan@gmail.com. Share your perspectives of life and love. Follow me on twitter @SayantanDreamz.

Leave a Reply

