When Missing Becomes OK !!!!

“Missing someone, they say, is self-centered.
I self-center you more than ever.”   Saša Stanišić

R was looking at the books of his room. This room after so many years. He is happy, as he is finally at his own city and moreover at his favorite room. He has earned well, and stayed at fancy houses but those houses don’t have the smell of togetherness, which this room has.

R knows that this city is very slow and not very happening. But he is addicted to this city and always missed it like anything as this city knows his every secret. His first love, first kiss, first tears, first cigarette, first peg, first friend. He always planned this date with his room. He has always thought how will it be when he will enter the room, when he will touch the books, when he will look at the poster of Ritwik Ghatak.

Suddenly R felt, how is she? Who is she? She is his friend, a fiend whom he has missed all the time. A friend with whom virtual communication doesn’t stand. He should meet her. Though they are in touch through watsapp and Facebook. But as now as he is in city then she must be very excited to meet him. R has not much close friends in city now. But he should meet her. In secret he always considered her as his best friend, and there is no contradiction of falling for her and heart broken feelings.

R took his mobile and pinged her.

“Hey, I am in city. Please meet up. Let me know if you are free tomorrow.”

“Oh great. I will meet you for sure. But very busy with my work right now.” she replied.

3 weeks have passed. She hasn’t contacted. His time of departure is knocking at the door. So R thought he will text her again.

“Hey, I will be leaving next week. Please meet for sometime. I have a lots of things to tell you.”

 “I told you na, I am busy. Its ok, the next time you will come we can talk then.” she answered.

“Next time?? That means, 2 years from now. I miss you. I so wanted to see you once.”

“Hehe. It’s ok. Next time pakka.”

R looked at the text and realized that time has changed. With time the emotions and the rights on some emotions change. This is the beauty of life. R realized that, with time missing becomes ok. People is the entity which changes so fast that you cant measure of predict the change. If you can accept it, you will be able to walk and if you cant, then the pain will increase every day.

R looked at the sky and then on the streets of the city. Its winter and foggy, so he is not able to see the road properly. Just like his, future.

Author: sayantanjourno

A coffee addict. I love to read books. Writing is my passion. I write poems and articles on life. I am a journalist by profession. I write reports on political and social issues. Here you will find some of my writings on various socio-political-economic issues. I love traveling, photography and music. I am doing theater for more than 13 years now. So write to me on work.sayantan@gmail.com. Share your perspectives of life and love. Follow me on twitter @SayantanDreamz.

2 thoughts on “When Missing Becomes OK !!!!”

Leave a Reply

