The Evening, We Met

“But I love your feet
only because they walked
upon the earth and upon
the wind and upon the waters,
until they found me.” —— Pablo Neruda

These are the lines which I never understood before the evening, we met. Clouds have covered the sky of Delhi. Now it silent all over. Monsoon nights a re very silent. My table lamp’s light, the low music and the smoke of the cigarette have made a different mood for me.

It was sudden that we started a conversation over Facebook one day. We were strangers to each other, still today we are strangers. In that picture you were looking like baby girl. I started calling you that name. You never had a problem with that name. It was very sudden that we made a plan to meet.

A small cafe of Kolkata, with some dim light. We entered the cafe and sat. You were beautiful and so very pretty, wearing white top and your hair was open.

“Time for you and time for me,
And time yet for a hundred indecisions,
And for a hundred visions and revisions,
Before the taking of a toast and tea.” T.S. Eliot

We started talking. I realized the depth of your thoughts. Your every smile, the way you were talking, your eyes  and the smile. Everything were very new to me. You had an attraction. The attraction of an innocence, which I loved.

I have never asked myself that what is love. I have felt it the way it came to me. I can’t say that I loved you, because you have given me the warning to no to expect love. Yes it is true that I shouldn’t expect love from you. But love is not something we expect, it comes in silence. The evening we met, made to fall for you. I couldn’t tell myself the reason of love. Many people knows the reason of love and depart but I don’t. I have just known that it happened, that evening. You came to me like a dream.

We all have lost love, sometimes. But the most important is to feel the love. That evening made me understand that love is a story of moments. It is a discovery of emotions. I can still say the way you loved. I can steel say the way I felt when I touched your hand. You criticized my every thing, you criticized my style and dress. I am fond of my everything. I tried to change. But, today I decided that no I will not change.

This change has the touch of yours. The you I know on that evening, we met.

 

Follow me on @SayantanDreamz

Write me on work.sayantan@gmail.com

Share your thoughts, doubts and realizations on life and relationships.

(Image source is Google Images.)

Author: sayantanjourno

A coffee addict. I love to read books. Writing is my passion. I write poems and articles on life. I am a journalist by profession. I write reports on political and social issues. Here you will find some of my writings on various socio-political-economic issues. I love traveling, photography and music. I am doing theater for more than 13 years now. So write to me on work.sayantan@gmail.com. Share your perspectives of life and love. Follow me on twitter @SayantanDreamz.

Leave a Reply

