I quit microbiology to become a storyteller

The hazy light of my room gives me peace. After a whole day work and many complications, when I return to this room and look at my world of books, pile of papers, some old picture amidst the smell of coffee; I realize that this is where I belong to. I belong to this uncertainty and the hazy world.

It was three years back when I took the decision that I will quit microbiology and become storyteller. The subject was good, but every good thing is not the best for a person. I never loved the subject, repeated one year and did many unwanted things. It could have been very smart to continue with microbio and do a post graduation then walk in the traditional way or lose the way.

But I didn’t, the first time I listened to my heart, which was telling me “you are a storyteller”. I have always loved theater. I have done theater for many years, and I am confident that I will do it again soon. But, theater was not the profession which can lead me anywhere, I will have to shift to films or serials to earn money. I tried a test for National School of Drama (NSD) but couldn’t qualify.

Then, suddenly got a call from Jain University, Bangalore for post graduation in mass communication. On a decision of one night, I left my city Kolkata and jumped into the new way of communication. With time realized that it is a wonderful thing to do. Storytelling indeed. But not like theater, it is different. I took the profession of journalism.

My love for storytelling has made me whatever I am doing today. The happiest part is that, I am doing something what I always wanted to do. I am following my dream. Money, fame, future, bro take a break. I know those are important but not more than your dreams.

I am what I am. I am all about my dreams and my thoughts. Theater is a live story telling, where you get a chance to tell a story through your acting and here you get a chance to tell a story every day. Every day a new story. Everyday a new challenge. But you are the same person, who keep yourself out of the story but tell the story.

Dreams are something which you should follow all the time. Yes it is tough to take a risk. But life is all about love. Love for someone and love for something. If you haven’t loved someone or something, then you haven’t loved yourself.

The more you will love yourself, you will feel the urge of following your dream. Life is short, you make your life. Nobody else really matter. Don’t take the decisions on the basis of what people say. Take the decision on what you want. Yes it is true that that all the time, you will not get that chance. But if you get, don’t lose it.

Enough of leading your life like others. I haven’t proved my success with money or fame. I am still  a student and struggling. But I have proved my success with my happiness. I followed my dreams and I have some peace around and within. So why can’t you get?

Author: sayantanjourno

A coffee addict. I love to read books. Writing is my passion. I write poems and articles on life. I am a journalist by profession. I write reports on political and social issues. Here you will find some of my writings on various socio-political-economic issues. I love traveling, photography and music. I am doing theater for more than 13 years now. So write to me on work.sayantan@gmail.com. Share your perspectives of life and love. Follow me on twitter @SayantanDreamz.

6 thoughts on “I quit microbiology to become a storyteller”

Leave a Reply

