I Walked Through The Lanes of Little Tibet, New Delhi

A woman in a red dress was sitting in a stool and in front of her a table, she is sailing thuppa, a Tibetian food. For to five people were standing and having this authentic dish, which you can say a kind of noodles soup. The shop keeper and the most of the people were from Tibet. I am not talking about any Himalayan village. This is a story of an area of New Delhi near, Manju-ka-tilla.

A narrow lane from the main road is going inside the Tibetian locality of New Delhi near Kashmiri Gate, New Delhi. Many cafes and shops are all over here. Tibetians along with others are walking along the streets. Some of them are buying things from shops and some them are just chatting with each other.

IMG_5831.JPG
Tibetian street food shops

It is pre-winter in Delhi. The city is fighting with pollution but the chilled wind pleases me. While walking you will find many jewelry shops in this place. These are the things very unique here. Most of the things are made of stones. The price is reasonable and you have to bargain a lot. The place and the mood of the place drove my mind to the memories of the visits to Sikkim.

This place has a charm which was making me feel that I am not in Delhi but somewhere else. The street food shops here are very authentic. I saw around six to seven street food shops sailing momos, thuppas, noodles and many more. But there is a small shop where I found only buff sausage and it is yummy.

img_5821
Tibetian jewelry shops

I have been to many places of Delhi. But this place is less discovered and discussed. The small lane has many beautiful cafes and restaurants. The cafes have a all the authentic Tibetian dishes along with all types of teas and coffees.

The cafe I visited was Kham cafe. A small cafe with a cozy sitting arrangement. The Tibetian tea is something special here. Kham cafe has number of books to read and free wi-fi. So if somebody like me is trying to spend a good afternoon then leave the CCD for once and visit this place. Most excitingly, here the price is much lesser than than the other cafes of Delhi.

Lastly, the visit would have been incomplete if I didn’t visit Tara Restaurant.  Before the menu card the sitting arrangement was amazing. The floor sitting arrangement with small tables were beautiful. Then the food was amazing indeed. The foods were Bhutanis and Tibetian. I ordered pork fried momo, Tingmo ( made of flour, a kind of bread) and Pork shaptra. Every dish was authentic and unique.

I think I will visit this place again soon, to come out from the strict routine. Walk through these lane is a relive to me. Why don’t you walk along like this alone or with someone?

Author: sayantanjourno

A coffee addict. I love to read books. Writing is my passion. I write poems and articles on life. I am a journalist by profession. I write reports on political and social issues. Here you will find some of my writings on various socio-political-economic issues. I love traveling, photography and music. I am doing theater for more than 13 years now. So write to me on work.sayantan@gmail.com. Share your perspectives of life and love. Follow me on twitter @SayantanDreamz.

Leave a Reply

