The Second Man (Chapter-1)

My flight landed at Delhi Airport in the early morning of a late December. After 25 years, I am in Delhi. I know, Delhi has changed in its own way. But this city always reminds me of J. A girl whom I met 25 years back in this city.

J and I spent three months together and we did a trip to Darjeeling. Then she chose her way and I walk on mine. No, J has not died. She is married to the man she always loved. I don’t exactly know where is she. But, I wish that she is doing well with her life. One night I took a decision that I will leave this city and J. I packed my bag, wrote a letter to my editor of the newspaper I was working for and left the city. I called up J in the morning while she was sleeping.

“Hello,” she replied in a sleepy voice.

“Hi, sorry to call you up in this time,” I said.

“It ok, tell me what happened?” she said.

“I am leaving Delhi. Leaving forever,” I said in a cold voice.

“You are not kidding. Are you?” she was surprised.

“ No”, I said.

“Why? What about your dream job as the deputy chief political correspondent?” she was anxious.

“I resigned, J. I don’t want to be in this city anymore. I have just an hour to reach airport. I am going to Bangalore and hope to find a job there.” I explained.

“Why are you doing this to me?” she was crying.

“Don’t cry J. Please take care of yourself. I am leaving the city not for you but for me. We will meet again someday, somewhere may be. But now I have to leave. Don’t tell me a good bye while crying,” I said.

“I love you. I really do,” she said.

“But you love him too and want to be with him. Please forget me and go back to him. When you go away, just keep a bit of me with you,” I said and cut the call.

Then it is 25 years. One morning I got a card and a letter from J in Bangalore.

Dear S,

Hope you are doing well in Bangalore with your new job. Though you write in Bangalore but I always read your stories and those are absolutely great as usual. You know that I love your reporting style.

S, you wanted me to be with him. The day you left Delhi, I realized that this city was never mine. From the first day in this city you have been with me. I have known the city, holding your hand. Every corner of the city had your presence. I continued my job for about six months more there. Then I shifted to Kolkata. The office missed you from the day you left. I missed you more.

But, after coming back to Kolkata, everything was under the control of my family. They always wanted me to get  married to him and I wanted too. We again started everything from the scratch. I knew that I love him like anything. So it was not difficult.

We again started going out together, sharing every thing. Then after two years, I have decided to get married to him. I know it is difficult for you to come to my wedding. I will not force you to come.

S, you know something? Yes there is everything between me and him. But I know there is something missing inside me. That is you.

I know S, and I have told you when we were together that nobody can love me the way you did. I miss you every time.

But as you said to go back to him, I went back. Yes of course I wanted it.I hurt you badly and I know that. But before a month my wedding I still want to tell you that I love you.

I know you will never come back to my life because you don’t want to break my life. But wherever you are and who ever with, please take care.

Bhalobashi toke.

With love

yours always

J.”

Author: sayantanjourno

A coffee addict. I love to read books. Writing is my passion. I write poems and articles on life. I am a journalist by profession. I write reports on political and social issues. Here you will find some of my writings on various socio-political-economic issues. I love traveling, photography and music. I am doing theater for more than 13 years now. So write to me on work.sayantan@gmail.com. Share your perspectives of life and love. Follow me on twitter @SayantanDreamz.

Leave a Reply

