Ravindra Gaikwad and how parliament has become a personal property

Every time an election comes, we get a holiday proudly go to the nearby school and vote for some one. That person wins and goes to the Lok Sabha or Vidhan Sabha and then talks about own problem. We watch his or her problems on TV and then decide next time we will not vote for these people. Then before election they start talking about us and we forget about these sessions and again vote.

No, I am not writing a fictional story here, but this is a story of you and me who have elected people like Ravindra Gaikwad and made him an MP.

On March 23, he beat up an Air India official with slipper, 25 times. Today he came to Parliament and started talking about the incident. “I am grateful that you have allowed me to speak inside the House. The AI staff abused me and pulled me by my collar. The AI staff who misbehaved with me is roaming scot-free. But here I am with curbs from all airlines,” he said to the House.

He asked the house “what wrong have I done?”. No one in the house answered. Then after his speech BJP and some other political leaders protested as a routine protest. But no body asked a question that is Parliament a place to discuss and defend own misbehavior?

We all have seen what he has done. Then why the house allowed him to speak? We being the largest democracy is facing this problem every day. Our Parliament has become a place of self-defense. People do wrong things and go their to defend.

Gaikwad said ” “I apologize to Parliament if I’ve caused any hurt, but not to the Air India official.” This is the audacity we have given to these people by voting for them. He has beat up an official but not sorry for that just because he is powerful. He has challenged the murder charge against him because he was not carrying any weapon.

Of course he was not. He used his slippers but how can you defend yourself after beating up a person for no reason.

We are proud to be a democracy but to maintain this pride we also need to maintain the house a place to defend and discuss things about people and not for MPs.

(Source: TOI and google)

Author: sayantanjourno

A coffee addict. I love to read books. Writing is my passion. I write poems and articles on life. I am a journalist by profession. I write reports on political and social issues. Here you will find some of my writings on various socio-political-economic issues. I love traveling, photography and music. I am doing theater for more than 13 years now. So write to me on work.sayantan@gmail.com. Share your perspectives of life and love. Follow me on twitter @SayantanDreamz.

Leave a Reply

